Administrative Setup
INTRODUCTION The administrative headquarter of the newly created District among 8 (eight) Districts of Mizoram, Kolasib District is situated to the north of Aizawl District. Kolasib was initially created as the centre of Tribal Development Block on the day of the birth anniversary of the Father of the Nation in 1957 and was manned by Project Executive Officer. It was later upgraded to be administrated by the Area Administrative Officer. When Mizoram elevated to a Union Territory in 1972, Kolasib Was upgraded as the headquarter of Sub-Division manned by Sub-Divisional Officer (Civil) on 5th May, 1975.

Being the seat of administration for more than three long decads its present status of District was created by the Government of Mizoram following the trifurcation of Aizawl District in 1998.

ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISIONS : For the purpose of general and developmental administration, the district has been divided into 3 (three) Sub-Divisions viz. Kolasib Sadar, Vairengte and Kawnpui and 2 (two) R.D. Block, i.e. Thingdawl and Bilkhawthlir.